## Electrochemical Characterisation of Cu Clusters and Well Defined Extended Surfaces

<u>Degenhart Hochfilzer</u><sup>a</sup>, Ezra Lee Clark<sup>b</sup>, Jakob Ejler Sørensen<sup>b</sup>, Søren Bertelsen Scott<sup>b</sup>, Jakob Kibsgaard<sup>b</sup>, Brian Seger<sup>b</sup>, Ib Chorkendorff<sup>b</sup>

<sup>a</sup>Technical University of Munich, Arcisstraße 21, 80333 Munich, Germany <sup>b</sup>Technical University of Denmark, Anker Engelunds Vej 1 Bygning 101A, 2800 Kgs. Lyngby

Copper (Cu) is the only monometallic electrocatalyst that can reduce carbon dioxide  $(CO_2)$  into hydrocarbons and alcohols [1]. The selectivity towards certain products is thereby dependent on the properties of the electrolyte as well as the catalyst itself [2]. While electrolyte properties such as cation and anion identity are determined by the choice of the electrolyte and remain constant during the reaction the catalyst is prone to morphological changes. It has been shown in the literature that polycrystalline Cu electrodes reconstruct under CO<sub>2</sub> reduction conditions to Cu(111) and subsequently to Cu(100) [3]. If nanoparticles or clusters are used as electrocatalysts morphological changes relies on in situ experiments at the synchrotron or quasi in situ electrochemical scanning tunneling microscopy [3,5]. Herein we demonstrate an electrochemical approach to characterise Cu-based electrocatalysts based on measurements performed over well defined extended Cu surfaces. Furthermore, we extend these measurements to investigate the transient morphological changes experienced by nanoscopic Cu clusters during CO reduction.

<sup>[1]</sup> Y. Hori, H. Wakebe, T. Tsukamoto, O. Koga, *Electrochimica Acta* 1994, *39*, 1833.

<sup>[2]</sup> M. Gattrell, N. Gupta, A. Co, Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry 2006, 594, 1.

<sup>[3]</sup> Y.-G. Kim, J. H. Baricuatro, A. Javier, J. M. Gregoire, M. P. Soriaga, Langmuir 2014, 30, 15053.

<sup>[4]</sup> J. Huang, N. Hörmann, E. Oveisi, A. Loiudice, G. L. D. Gregorio, O. Andreussi, N. Marzari, R. Buonsanti, *Nature Communications* **2018**, *9*, 3117.

<sup>[5]</sup> S. B. Scott, T. v. Hogg, A. T. Landers, T. Maagaard, E. Bertheussen, J. C. Lin, R. C. Davis, J. W. Beeman, D. Higgins, W. S. Drisdell et al., *ACS Energy Lett.* **2019**, *4*, 803.